Cancer Screening Committee

In which cases are long-term and/or broad-based examinations useful for the early detection of cancer? Then when do these so-called screening examinations do more good than harm to those undergoing them? The general population as well as professional circles are confronted by questions about screening for cancer, which again lead to further discussions.

The national Cancer Screening Committee has been set up within the framework of theĀ National Strategy against Cancer. It is devoted to the questions surrounding cancer screening issues. The committee works in a scientifically well-founded, balanced manner and is independent of particular interests or recommendations.


News

15. November 2022

The Swiss Cancer Screening Committee suggests offering low-dose computed tomography lung cancer screening to people at risk.
Screening can lead to earlier diagnoses and probably results in a reduction of lung cancer deaths. The Swiss Cancer Screening Committee thinks that a majority of informed high-risk people would consider screening. The Committee strongly recommends offering LDCT lung cancer screening within organised programmes.

Read more

Previous Recommendations
Recommendations on Cervical Cancer Screening, 11 August 2021.

Expertengremium Krebsfrüherkennung

In welchen Fällen sind breit angelegte Untersuchungen zur Früherkennung von Krebs sinnvoll? Und wann nützen solche Screening-Untersuchungen mehr als sie schaden? Fragen zur Früherkennung von Krebs führen in der breiten Bevölkerung aber auch in Fachkreisen immer wieder zu Diskussionen.

Das nationale Expertengremium für Früherkennung ist im Rahmen der Nationalen Strategie gegen Krebs eingesetzt worden. Es widmet sich den Fragen zu Krebs-Screenings und arbeitet wissenschaftlich gut begründete, ausgewogene und von Partikularinteressen unabhängige Empfehlungen aus.


Aktuell

15. November 2022

Das Expertengremium Krebsfrüherkennung schlägt vor, ein Lungenkrebsscreening mittels niedrigdosierter Computertomographie für Risikopersonen anzubieten.
Ein Screening kann zu früheren Diagnosestellungen führen und vermindert wahrscheinlich die Zahl der Todesfälle durch Lungenkrebs. Das Expertengremium geht davon aus, dass eine Mehrheit von informierten Personen mit erhöhtem Lungenkrebsrisiko ein Screening in Betracht ziehen würde. Das Expertengremium empfiehlt ausdrücklich, das LDCT-Lungenkrebsscreening im Rahmen organisierter Programme anzubieten.

Weiterlesen

Frühere Empfehlungen
Empfehlung zum Thema Gebärmutterhalskrebsscreening vom 11. August 2021